EDISON, N.J. – Junior Patrick Eaker (Redding, Conn.) claimed his second consecutive Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) Co-Long Stick Midfielder of the Year honor at this year’s 2014 MAAC men’s lacrosse awards show. Six Red Foxes, including Eaker, earned All-MAAC Team honors while five student-athletes were named to the MAAC All-Academic Team.

Eaker earned the league’s Co-Long Stick Midfielder of the Year award for the second year in a row. He picked up a total of 42 ground balls this season, which is a career-high for Eaker, and ranks sixth in the league in ground balls per game (3.23). He also had a team-high 12 caused turnovers this season alongside two goals.

Eaker was also named to the First Team All-MAAC alongside sophomore Joseph Radin (Long Beach, N.Y.) and juniors Mike Begley (Brookeville, Md.) and Drew Nesmith (Montclair, N.J.). Radin, the reigning 2013 MAAC Rookie of the Year, finished the regular season second on the team in points with 41 on a team-high 34 goals and seven assists. Radin ranks second in the MAAC for goals per game (2.62) and is tied for fourth for points per game (3.15).

Begley earned his first All-MAAC team selection this season following a breakout year for the junior. Begley notched 30 points this season on 19 goals and 11 assists, best for second on the team. He finished the year 10th in the MAAC in both categories. Begley also collected 28 ground balls, tied for fourth on the team.

Nesmith was named to the Second Team All-MAAC in 2012 and 2013 following two successful seasons as a freshman and sophomore. Nesmith finished fourth on the team this year with 31 points on 28 goals and three assists. He had a career high six goals against #16 Hofstra on April 8. Nesmith finished third on the team with 37 ground balls. He ranks fifth in the MAAC for goals per game (2.15) and ninth for ground balls per game (2.85).

After a standout rookie season, freshman J.D. Recor (Lancaster, N.Y.) was honored with selections to both the Second Team All-MAAC and MAAC All-Rookie Team. Recor leads Marist with 44 points on 15 goals and a team-high 29 assists. Recor’s 29 assists are best for ninth nationally, first among all freshmen in the country, and second in the MAAC. His 29 assists also break Recor into the top ten in program history for assists in a single season. He has also nabbed four MAAC Rookie of the Week honors this season.

Classmate Jimmy Murphy joins Recor on the MAAC All-Rookie Team. Murphy appeared in 12 games for the Red Foxes this season in the midfield. He collected nine ground balls and recorded five caused turnovers.

Five Red Foxes were named to the MAAC All-Academic team; sophomore Dominic Montemurro (Kings Park, N.Y.), senior Gannon Osborn (Canandaigua, N.Y.), junior Dave Scarcello (Buffalo, N.Y.), sophomore Dillon Walker (Wawa, Pa.), and sophomore Dylan Woods (Essex, Conn.). To be eligible for the MAAC All-Academic Team, a student athlete must complete two semesters at their institution and hold a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 on a 4.0 scale.

The No. 2 seeded Red Foxes face defending MAAC Champion and No. 3 seed Detroit in the semi-finals of the MAAC Tournament on Thursday, May 1. The game is slated to begin at 7 p.m. at Tenney Stadium. Tickets available on GoRedFoxes.com. Admission is free to Marist students with a valid student I.D.

All-MAAC First Team


Shayne Adams, Detroit

Joseph Radin, Marist

Richie Hurley, Siena


Tim Edwards, Canisius

Mike Begley, Marist

Drew Nesmith, Marist

Conor Prunty, Siena


Adam Donner, Canisius

Paul Bitetti, Detroit

Sean McMahon, Manhattan

Pat Eaker, Marist

Brendan Meehan, Siena


Jason Weber, Detroit


All-MAAC Second Team


J.D. Recor, Marist

Mike Sagl, Quinnipiac

Colin Clive, Siena


Mike Birney, Detroit

Scott Drummond, Detroit

Nate Barry, Siena

Kyle Curry, Siena


Carmen French, Quinnipiac

Adam Hall, Siena

Jake Kissick, Siena


Gill Conners, Quinnipiac

Tommy Cordts, Siena


All-Rookie Team

Jeff Edwards, Canisius

Lewis Vaccaro, Canisius

Jason Weber, Detroit

Alex Abiog, Manhattan

Matt Garvey, Manhattan

Jimmy Murphy, Marist

J.D. Recor, Marist

Dan Bloodgood, Monmouth

Chris Daly, Monmouth

Zach Vehar, Quinnipiac

Kevin Diehl, Quinnipiac

Joe Arcarese, Siena

Jordan Barlow, Siena


Major Award Winners

Face-Off Specialist of the Year

Casey Dowd, Siena

Co-Long Stick Midfielders of the Year

Sean McMahon, Manhattan

Pat Eaker, Marist

Rookie of the Year

Jason Weber, Detroit

Defensive Player of the Year

Jason Weber, Detroit

Offensive Player of the Year

Richie Hurley, Siena

Anaconda Sports MAAC Coach of the Year

John Svec, Siena