POUGHKEEPSIE, N.Y. - The Marist women’s lacrosse team enjoyed a record-breaking season in 2014, concluding its season with a trip to the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) Championship game.

Head Coach Jessica O'Brien was named the Anaconda Sports MAAC Coach of the Year for the second straight season after leading her Red Foxes to a 14-4 overall record and 7-1 mark in the MAAC. The 14 wins breaks a single-season program record for wins in a single season. The Red Foxes claimed a share of the MAAC Regular Season title for the first time in program history as well as the number one seed heading into the MAAC Tournament for the first time.

Marist went on a 10 game-winning streak, beginning on Mar. 7 and ending on April 23, breaking the longest winning streak in program history, previously set in 2009 with five wins. After splitting their two opening games against Lafayette and Vermont, the Red Foxes topped USC and Fresno State in back-to-back games in California. Marist suffered a 9-3 loss at Hofstra before winning 10-straight. Monmouth handed the Red Foxes their only loss in the MAAC, 12-11.

Top-seeded and regular season champions, Marist, faced Monmouth in the opening round of the tournament and defeated the Hawks, 13-7. Marist and Canisius were the last two left standing for the second straight year. The Golden Griffins came out on top, defeated Marist 11-9.

This year's Marist squad earned several conference awards, including Rookie of the Year in Abigail Witczak, three All-MAAC First Team members (sophomore Allison Gionta (Eastport, N.Y.), seniors Bailey Knapton (Canandaigua, N.Y.), and Jamie Romano (Kings Park, N.Y.), four All-MAAC Second Team members (junior Christine Astarita (Kennett Square, Pa.), sophomore Kara McHugh (Madison, Conn.),  junior Tina Pumo (Oceanside, N.Y.), and freshman Abigail Witczak (Mendham, N.J.), and two MAAC All-Rookie Team members (freshman Natalie Bonatori (Pittsburgh, Pa.) and Witczak).

Academically, the Red Foxes ranked first in the conference in MAAC All-Academic selections with 15. The Red Foxes named were seniors Bailey Knapton (Digital Media), Tierney Larson (Fairfield, Conn./ Business Administration-Marketing), Jamie Romano (Psychology Special Education), Brooke Wickham (Penn Yan, N.Y./Political Science), juniors Christine Astarita (Business Administration-Marketing), Lexi Brannigan (Loudonville, N.Y./Psychology Special Education), Sheri Fauvell (Moorestown, N.J./Fashion Design and Merchandise), Liz Holmes (Longmeadow, Mass.), Emily Leonard (Brookfield, Conn./Biomedical Sciences), Tina Pumo (Psychology Special Education), Erin Schroeder (Vero Beach, Fla./Athletic Training), Kirsten Viscount (Smithtown, N.Y./Psychology Special Education), and sophomores Kaitlyn Brown (Port Washington, N.Y./Business Administration), Kacey Carter (Lynbrook, N.Y./Athletic Training), Anna Petrunich (Westborough, Mass./Fashion Design and Merchandise). To be eligible for the MAAC All-Academic Team, a student athlete must complete two semesters at their institution and hold a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 on a 4.0 scale.