WEST WINDSOR, N.J. – The Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) announced the 2014 All-MAAC Rowing Awards, voted on by the league’s head coaches. The Red Foxes had four boats named to the All-MAAC teams between the men’s and women’s crews, while Head Coach Matt Lavin was named the 2014 MAAC Men’s Coach of the Year. Marist also had 21 student-athletes named to the MAAC All-Academic Team for the 2014 season.

On the men’s side, Marist College won the top award for the men’s varsity four, which included coxswain Christina Popowytsch and rowers Sacha Castellani, Kevin Cabello, Oliver Lee and Cody Brooks.

The Red Foxes also tied with Fairfield University for All-MAAC honors for their men’s varsity eight boats. Marist’s boat included coxswain Chris Leonard and rowers Brendan McLaughlin, Curtis Mahan, Chris Behnke, Kevin Coomey, Jake Enright, Matt Klos, Dan Nesfeder, and Cameron Schuh.

On the women’s side, the varsity four boat from Marist College was the top choice amongst the head coaches.  The Red Foxes' boat includes coxswain Alexis Batulis and rowers Kim Foster, Carrie Rapp, Danielle Villa and Kristin Mahoney.

League honors went to Marist’s second varsity eight who tied with both Fairfield University and Jacksonville University, the Red Foxes' boat is represented by coxswain Erica Bogdan as well as rowers Kristin Wilson, Nora Culhane, Astrid Skjaerpe, Meghan Ladouceur, Alicen Shaw, Katherine Perry, Theresa Fillippini and Kira Melendez.

The men’s crew had eight student-athletes named to the All-Academic Team: senior Harrison Drouin-Reed, junior Evan Heaton, junior Chris Lorenz, sophomore Kyle Mikesh, junior Dan Nesfeder, junior Christina Popowytsch, junior Cameron Schuh, and junior Connor Wiggins. On the women’s side, sophomore Lauren Banzer, junior Annie Devorak, sophomore Kiera Egan, senior Theresa Fillippini, junior Elizabeth Hehir, senior Nijla Mingo, junior Stephanie Moriarty, sophomore Brittany Morrissey, junior Meaghan Perry, sophomore Ali Shaw, senior Flavia Siclovan, junior Danielle Villa, and junior Kristin Wilson were named to the MAAC All-Academic Team.

The MAAC Championships will kick off at 10:30 a.m. with the Women’s Varsity Four, while the men’s events will start at 11:30 a.m. with the Varsity Four. The Awards Ceremony will take place at 5 p.m. following the last event of the day.