ST. LOUIS, Mo. – Red-shirt defensive end Terrence Fede and head coach Jim Parady of the Marist football program both earned major awards from the Pioneer Football League (PFL) on Monday. Fede was named Defensive Player of the Year, and Parady was named Coach of the Year.

This marks the first time that any Marist player or coach has earned a major award from the PFL in the Red Foxes’ five years in the league.

Fede set the program’s single-season (13) and career (30.5) records for sacks this season. His average of 1.2 sacks per game currently leads the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), and he is tied for fifth in tackles for loss per game in the FCS. Fede had at least half a sack in 9 of 11 games, and at least half a tackle for loss in 10 of 11 games. He finished the season with 59 total tackles and four pass break-ups. He was honored as Pioneer Football League (PFL) Defensive Player of the Week twice this season. Fede helped the Red Foxes rank second in the PFL in scoring defense and total defense, and helped the Red Foxes record two shutouts this season.

Parady led Marist to a share of the PFL regular-season championship after the Red Foxes were picked sixth in the league’s preseason poll. He led Marist to its highest win total (eight) in 36 seasons of varsity football, and highest PFL win total (seven) in its five years in the league. Both win totals represented a four-game improvement from the 2012 season. The Red Foxes closed strong by winning eight of their final nine games. Parady also serves as the team’s quarterbacks coach, and helped senior Chuckie Looney (Ocala, Fla.) break the program’s single-season and career records for completions, attempts, passing yards and touchdown passes. As a result, Marist scored a program-record 378 points this season, topping the previous record of 305, set in 2005.

Fede and Parady were also selected as national finalists for major awards in the FCS. Fede is a finalist for the Buck Buchanan Award, which is presented to the top defensive player in the FCS. Parady is a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Award, which is given to the FCS Coach of the Year.

The PFL awards were determined by a vote of the league’s coaches.