Editor’s Note: Information From College Football Performance Awards & Marist Athletics Both Used In This Release

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football, recently announced its watch list for defensive linemen, and Terrence Fede earned a spot on the list. The preliminary watch list highlights thirty-eight returning performers, vying for the top individual defensive end and defensive tackle awards in the Football Championship Subdivision.

"Congratulations to Terrence Fede on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Defensive Lineman Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Fede will likely create continued PFL mismatches at the line of scrimmage during his fifth year at Marist."

Fede joins two other Red Foxes, quarterback Chuckie Looney and tight end David Diomede, on the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards Watch List.

Fede has led Marist in sacks and tackles for loss each of the last two seasons. He has accumulated 17.5 sacks and 28.5 stops behind the line of scrimmage in this time. Fede was an All-Pioneer Football League Second team selection in 2011, and a unanimous All-PFL First Team choice in 2012.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Past CFPA winners include: Colin Kaepernick (Nevada), Trent Richardson (Alabama), Dez Bryant (Oklahoma State), Whitney Mercilus (Illinois), Von Miller (Texas A&M), Alex Henery (Nebraska), Earl Thomas (Texas), and Patrick Peterson (LSU).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website (http://www.collegefootballperformance.com). Follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.

The Marist football team will begin its 2013 season, its fifth as a member of the PFL, on Saturday, Aug. 31 with a non-league home game against Sacred Heart.

Become a fan of Marist Athletics on Facebook at Facebook.com/GoRedFoxes and follow us on Twitter @MaristAthletics.