POUGHKEEPSIE, N.Y. - The Marist Department of Athletics honored its senior class Monday night in a banquet at Christo's Restaurant. Kate Conard of women’s swimming and diving and Connor Rice of men’s lacrosse were honored as Sportspersons of the Year.

Conard finished her career as one of the most decorated swimmers in program history. She was named MAAC Championship Swimmer of the Year three times, and holds school records in seven individual and four relay events. In MAAC dual meets, won 52 of the 56 events she entered and at the MAAC Championships, she won 11 of 12 individual events she competed in and 15 of 18 relays.

Rice currently ranks in the top five in program history in goals, assists and points. He was named to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List for the 2012 and 2013 seasons, and has been named All-MAAC in each of his first three seasons. Rice was named MAAC Rookie of the Year in 2010, and earned a spots on the MAAC All-Tournament Team in 2011.

The recipients of the James Pizzani Award were Eleni Waskiewicz of women’s crew and Coordinator of Sports Medicine Glenn Marinelli. The Pizzani Award is given to those who best embody the qualities of the late James Pizzani, which are consistent with the college's core ideals of excellence in education, pursuit of higher human values and dedication to the principle of service. James Pizzani was a 1964 Marist graduate who died in 1988 after a nine-month battle with cancer.

Waskiewicz has served as Co-President of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, and has been instrumental in organizing the committee’s agenda and events. She has actively sought out community service opportunities as well. For the past three years, she has been a member of the Campus Ministry advisory board. Marinelli, who has served as Marist’s Coordinator of Sports Medicine for the past 32 years, has been bravely fighting cancer for nearly two years. His courage and tenacity have been inspirational. This year, he has taken pride in delivering motivational messages to Marist’s teams and student-athletes.

The recipients of the President's Academic Achievement Award were Jennifer DeLisle of women’s crew and Joel Moss of men’s cross country and track. The President's Academic Achievement Award is presented to the male and female student-athletes with the highest cumulative grade-point average. Women's cross country and men’s tennis were the recipients of the Athletic Director's award, presented to the male and female teams with highest cumulative grade-point average.

The Individual Strength & Conditioning awards were presented to Danielle Koltz of softball and Nick Mainiero of football. The Team Strength & Conditioning awards were presented to water polo and football.

Each senior student-athlete was recognized at the banquet.