NEW YORK – Senior forward Elizabeth Beynnon (Burlington, Vt.) of the Marist women's basketball team has been named to the All-Met First team, as announced by the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association on Friday. It is the first time that Beynnon has been recognized by the organization.

Beynnon was one of two Red Foxes to start all 33 games this season, leading the team in scoring with an average of 12.0 points per game and a .489 field goal percentage. Her .507 shooting percentage during the regular season led the MAAC. Beynnon grabbed an average of 4.2 rebounds per game. She scored a season-high 22 points against ACC-foe Wake Forest back on Nov. 24, leading to being named to the Paradise Jam All-Tournament Team. Beynnon reached double figures in all but four games against MAAC opponents. She was named to the All-MAAC Second Team and averaged 13.3 points in Marist’s three MAAC Tournament games, leading to being named the MAAC Tournament MVP.

It is the 18th time that the Met Writer’s Association has recognized a member of the women’s basketball team in the past 10 years. Beynnon is the 10th Red Fox to be named to the First Team and the seventh in the past six years, joining Corielle Yarde (2012), Erica Allenspach (2011, MET Player of the Year), Rachele Fitz (2008-2010) and Julianne Viani (2009). Fifi Camara (2005, 2006) and Stephanie Del Preore (2004) were also named to the First Team.

Marist finished the 2012-13 season with an overall 26-8 record and completed its third perfect 18-0 season in MAAC play. The Red Foxes defeated Iona 72-48 to win their eighth consecutive MAAC Championship, and ninth in the past 10 years. They earned a #12 seed in the Bridgeport Regional of the NCAA Tournament, where they fell 55-47 to #5 Michigan State at College Park, Md.

The All-Met teams will be honored April 15 at the 80th NIT/MBWA Haggerty Awards dinner at the Westchester Marriott, Tarrytown, NY.

Nadirah McKenith, St. John's         
Shenneika Smith, St. John's        
Shante Evans, Hofstra            
Damika Martinez, Iona            
Erin Rooney, Fordham                     
Elizabeth Beynnon, Marist              

Marah Strickland, Fordham         
Rayven Johnson, NJIT           
Kelsey Minato, Army                
Erica Wheeler, Rutgers          
Brittany Morris, Seton Hall     
MyNeshia McKenzie, Rider   

Player of the Year: Nadirah McKenith, St. John’s
Rookie of the Year: Aliyyah Handford, St. John’s
Coach of the Year: Stephanie Gaitley, Fordham

Become a fan of Marist Athletics on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter @MaristAthletics.