Remembering Glenn
Men's Basketball mm

Top 10 of 2012, #10 Ė Menís Crew Wins 11th Straight MAAC Championship

Courtesy: Marist Athletics
Release: December 21, 2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: Marist Athletics

On Saturday, April 28, the Marist men's crew team continued a stretch of dominance that has lasted more than a decade as the Red Foxes won their 11th consecutive Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) Championship.

Rowing at Lake Mercer in New Jersey, Marist narrowly edged out Jacksonville, rowing in their first season in the MAAC, by 13 points, 156-143.

The men won the Novice Eight, the Lightweight Four and Pair races. They Novice Eight boat finished in time of 6:21 while the Lightweight Four, with a time of 6:51.7, won by nearly eight seconds ahead of second-place Iona. In the Pair race, the Red Foxes took the top spot with a time of 7:29.9 four and a half seconds ahead of the boat from Loyola (Md.). The Red Foxes also came in second in four other races - the Varsity Eight, the Second Varsity Eight, the Varsity Four and the JV Four.

Additionally, the Varsity Four and Varsity Eight boats were recognized with All-MAAC honors in the first year that the conference has given out such awards. The Men's Varsity Fours boat consists of coxswain Emma Flynn, and rowers Bill Hawxhurst, Ben Smith, Tyler Sawyer, and John Boss. The Men's Varsity Eights boat is led by coxswain Chris Leonard, with rowers Reed Harrison, Andrew Sayles, Seaton Drebitkpo, Max Kenney, Chris Behnke, Matt Michand, Doug Woolley, and Sam Garrison. Head Coach Sean Clarke was also named the MAAC Men's Coach of the Year.

Become a fan of Marist Athletics on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter @MaristAthletics.

Live & On-Demand Video