POUGHKEEPSIE, N.Y. - In coordination with its alumni game this past weekend, Head Coach Keegan Wilkinson and the Marist men's lacrosse team handed out its 2012 team awards in a banquet following the game.

The evening was highlighted when defenseman Zach Badalucco (class of 2012) was named the 2012 MVP, presented by Ryan Penner (class of 2009). Badalucco finished tied for second on the team in ground balls (41) and third in face-off percentage (.325) and caused turnovers (10), leading to a selection to the All-MAAC First Team. He constantly drew the opponents' leading scorer and, more often than not, held them below their season average in points. In the MAAC Semifinals versus Siena, for which he was named honorary captain, Badalucco led the Red Foxes with a team-high seven ground balls en route to being named to the All-Tournament Team. He also caused two turnovers, the second-highest on the team, and was the team-leader at the face-off dot, winning five draws. In his four year career, Badalucco started 50 games, finishing with 102 ground balls and 23 caused turnovers.

Kevin Defranco (class of 2012) was the recipient of the Paul Cleary Award, given to the athlete who best exemplifies the game of lacrosse through hard work and dedication to his team and the sport. The award was presented by Terrence Dempsey (class of 2009). A long-stick midfielder and two-time captain, Defranco led the team in 2012 with 16 caused turnovers and was tied with Badalucco for second on the team with 41 ground balls. He was also named to the MAAC All-Tournament Team as he led the Red Foxes with four caused turnovers in the semifinals. He also scooped up four ground balls, second only to Badalucco. He was also the recipient of the Athletic Department's Strength and Conditioning Award following the 2012 year. During his four year career, Defranco started 43 games and was twice nominated for MAAC Long Stick Midfielder of the Year.

The 2012 Coaches Award went to Neil Krauter (class of 2012). The award is presented to the athlete who has played the game of lacrosse to the best of his ability and who has, by example, inspired or led his teammates both on and off the field and who, above all, has consistently demonstrated the qualities of unselfishness and loyalties to his team and Marist College. Krauter was named an honorary captain for the MAAC Semi Final game against Siena and finished the season fourth on the Red Foxes in face-off winning percentage. He was presented the award by 2009 graduate Paul Santavicca.

Drew Nesmith (Montclair, N.J.) was named the 2012 Edward Coombs Outstanding Freshman. He was presented the award by Matt Teichmann (class of 2010) who received the award himself in 2007 when he was named the MAAC Co-Rookie of the Year. Named to the 2012 All-MAAC Second Team, Nesmith finished tied for second on the team with 17 goals, including a league-high four game-winning goals, and was fourth on the Red Foxes with 22 points. He was also fifth on the team in ground balls, scooping up 28. He took 66 shots on the season, the second most on the Red Foxes. He earned back-to-back MAAC Rookie of the Week awards on April 2 and April 9. He finished the season 4th amongst all freshman midfielders in the country for scoring, which helped him earn a spot on InsideLacrosse.com's list of Top 25 Freshman in the country.

The 2012 Scholar Athlete Award recipient was Evan Guarini (class of 2012) for his efforts both on the field and in the classroom. He was presented the award by 2008 Marist graduate, Pat VanHall. A three-time member of the MAAC All-Academic Team, Guarini was fourth on the Red Foxes with 16 goals in 2012, including a team-high seven goals in man-up situations. He took 52 shots on the season, the third-most on the team, and was fourth with 29 shots on goal. Guarini was captain of the 2012 team and helped lead an extra man offense that finsihed the season 6th in the country.  

The Red Foxes also honored its 2012 MAAC All-Conference selections. Badalucco was the team's lone member on the First Team while Nesmith was joined on the Second Team by attacks Jack Doherty (Yorktown Heights, N.Y.) and Connor Rice (Penfield, N.Y.) as well as Ethan Fox (Yorktown Heights, N.Y.). Additionally, five student-athletes were named to the All-Academic Team. Guarini and Fox were joined by Kevin Dondero (Smithtown, N.Y.), Gannon Osborn (Canandaigua, N.Y.) and Vin Chiodo (Garden City, N.J.).

The 2012 Marist squad finished its season at 6-8 overall and 3-3 in the MAAC in Wilkinson's first year at the helm and advanced to their third consecutive MAAC Tournament.

2012 MVP

Zach Badalucco

 Paul Cleary Award

Kevin Defranco


Edward Coombs Outstanding

Drew Nesmith


 Scholar Athlete Award

Evan Guarini


 Coaches Award

Neil Krauter