WEST WINDSOR, New Jersey - The Marist women's rowing team finished in second place at the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Championships Friday afternoon at Lake Mercer at Mercer County Park, falling just short of the program's 11th conference title and first since 2013.

The Red Foxes would start the day racing in the varsity four, winning their heat by over 30 seconds. Marist would finish in 8:29.603 defeating boats from Manhattan, Fairfield, Robert Morris, and Sacred Heart to advance to the Grand Final later in the afternoon.

Next up for Marist was the Second Varsity eight against boats from Fairfield, Robert Morris, Sacred Heart, and Manhattan. The Red Foxes (8:10.182) would place second behind Fairfield (8:01.452) and also move on to the Grand Final.

The Varsity Eight would be the last boat of the morning for the Red Foxes and the boat would deliver another win. Marist would finish in 7:35.012 ahead of Drake (7:43.225), Fairfield, Robert Morris, and Manhattan to advance to the afternoon.

In the first Grand Final of the day, the Varsity Four would place second behind Jacksonville by less than a second. The Dolphins boat would finish in 8:21.909, besting the Red Foxes 8:22.849 finish. Fairfield, Canisius, Manhattan, and Drake trailed behind Marist and Jacksonville.

In the second Grand Final, Jacksonville would again emerge victorious but this time by a wider margin. The Dolphins Second Varsity Eight finished in 7:28.418 ahead of Marist's 7:45.884. Coming in third would be Fairfield followed by Canisius, Iona, and Robert Morris.

For the final race of the day, the Dolphins again would claim victory, sealing the title for Jacksonville. The Red Foxes' Varsity Eight finished at 7:26.883 behind Jacksonville's 7:21.190. Marist would beat out boats from Canisius, Drake, Fairfield, and Sacred Heart.

This is the final race in the careers of an outstanding Red Foxes' senior class including Alexis Batulis, Julia Czarnecki, Kimberly Foster, Mahra Lawrence, Katherine Perry, Julia Rigothi, and Astrid Amalie Skjaerpe.

Women's Varsity Eight: Erin Gisolfi (Coxswain), Kelsi Cottrell (8), Julia Rigothi (7), Sydney Ford (6), Clodagh Deasy (5), Kate Beebe (4), Caroline Withers (3), Caroline Defrancesco (2), Eliza Hartford (1)

Women's Second Varsity Eight: Isabelle Koch (Coxswain), Julia Czarnecki (8), Elisabeth Kamm (7), Shawna Gilson (6), Kerri Ernenwein (5), Lola Heimlich (4), Amanda Guy (3), Kimberly Foster (2), Katherine Perry (1)

Women's Varsity Four: Alexis Batulis (coxswain), Abby Gragg (4), Maddy Gragg (3), Bernedette Winby (2), Shelby Kislowski (1)