Women's Lacrosse Coaching Staff
Jessica O'Brien
Head Coach
Coach Info:
Position: Head Coach
Alma Mater: Marist
Graduating Year: 2008
Experience: 6 Years

Jessica O'Brien took over as head coach of the Marist women's lacrosse team on September 29, 2010. 

This past year she led Marist to a 6-2 finish in MAAC play and led the Red Foxes to the no. 2 seed and a bye in the quarterfinal round of the postseason tournament. The Red Foxes competed in the semifinal for the fifth straight season before falling to Monmouth. Marist ended up 20th in the nation in assists per game (5.53) and 29th in points per game (16.35). O'Brien led five of her student-athletes to All-MAAC selections and 10 earned spots on the All-Academic Team. She also had her first major award winner in senior Allison Gionta, who was named the MAAC Offensive Player of the Year.

In her fifth season in 2015 she led Marist to an 8-9 overall record and a MAAC Tournament appearance for the third straight year. The Red Foxes took down arch rival Siena in double overtime to advance to the semifinals. Five of O'Brien's student-athletes earned All-MAAC selections and 15 were named to the conference's All-Academic Team. 

In 2014 O'Brien was named Anaconda Sports Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Coach of the Year for the second straight season. She led the Red Foxes to a 14-4 overall record and 7-1 mark in the MAAC. The 14 wins broke a single-season program record for wins. O’Brien and the Red Foxes claimed a share of the MAAC regular season title as well as the number one seed in the MAAC Tournament. O’Brien also led Marist on a 10 game-winning streak, breaking the longest winning streak in program history previously set in 2009. She was named MAAC Coach of the Year for the second straight year.

The 2014 Marist squad earned several conference awards, including Rookie of the Year in Abigail Witczak, three All-MAAC First Team members (Allison Gionta, Bailey Knapton, and Jamie Romano), four All-MAAC Second Team members (Christine Astarita, Kara McHugh, Tina Pumo, and Abigail Witczak), two MAAC All-Rookie Team members (Natalie Bonatori and Abigail Witczak), and a conference-high 15 All-Academic student-athletes (Bailey Knapton, Tierney Larson, Jamie Romano, Brooke Wickham, Christine Astarita, Lexi Brannigan, Sheri Fauvell, Liz Holmes, Emily Leonard, Tina Pumo, Erin Schroeder, Kirsten Viscount, Kaitlyn Brown, Kacey Carter, and Anna Petrunich).

During the 2013 season, the team finished with an overall record of 9-10. Marist finished third in the MAAC during the regular season with a conference record of 4-2, making it to the conference championship game. O'Brien was named MAAC Coach of the Year for leading her team to seven wins in its last nine games. Three players were named to the All-MAAC First Team: Ashley Miller, Tierney Larson, and Jamie Romano. Six more Red Foxes were named to the All-MAAC Second Team: Amanda Tuck, Ashley Casiano, Bailey Knapton, Christine Astarita, and Kirsten Viscount. Allison Gionta was named to the MAAC All-Rookie Team. Four players were named to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches’ Association Academic Honor Roll: Jessica Irvine, Laura Lucchesi, Amanda Tuck, and Bailey Knapton. A conference-high 16 Red Foxes were named to the MAAC All-Academic Team.

After the 2012 season, eight of O’Brien’s athletes were honored on All-MAAC teams while another 10 earned recognition on the MAAC All-Academic Team. All-MAAC Second Team selections included: Shannon Haas, Ariel Kramer, Ashley Miller, Ashley Casiano, Amanda Tuck, Jamie Romano, Christine Astarita, and Emily Leonard. As a team, the Red Foxes were named an IWLCA Academic Squad by maintaining a team GPA of 3.0 or better during the previous 2011 season.

In her first season at the helm, O’Brien led the Red Foxes to a 6-10 record and came within one win of making the MAAC Tournament. Under her tutelage, Marist had three first-time All-MAAC honorees: freshmen Jamie Romano and Bailey Knapton earned First Team nods, while junior Shannon Haas made Second Team All-MAAC. Seven other Red Foxes earned honors on the MAAC All-Academic Team.

O’Brien was an assistant coach at Wagner College prior to taking on the head coaching position at Marist. O'Brien was involved in a considerable number of on and off the field aspects of the program at Wagner. She worked primarily with the Seahawks' defensive and goaltending units while also serving as the program's recruiting coordinator. Additionally, she was heavily involved in organizing practices, travel, film exchange, and fundraising while also monitoring the team's academic progress. Wagner was an IWLCA Merit Squad in 2009 and an IWLCA Academic Squad in 2010. 

O'Brien has served as head coach of the Liberty Lacrosse Club on Long Island for the past three summers. In that position, she has coached 25 rising high school seniors in summer tournaments and showcases. 

O'Brien was a four-year member of the Marist women's lacrosse team, playing for the Red Foxes during the 2005-08 seasons. She twice rebounded from season-ending injuries to score 42 goals in 51 career games. O'Brien totaled 86 ground balls, 51 caused turnovers and 47 draw controls in her playing career. 

In her senior year, O'Brien was an integral part of the Red Foxes’ first conference championship team. She scored a career-high 20 goals and also set a career high with 22 caused turnovers while playing in all 19 of the team's games. 

O'Brien earned her B.A. in Communications-Advertising with a minor in Studio Art from Marist and her M.B.A. in Management from Wagner.

Year MAAC Overall Result
2016 6-2 9-8 2nd in MAAC
2015 3-5 8-9 5th in MAAC
2014 7-1 14-4 Regular Season Champions
2013 4-2 9-10 3rd in MAAC
2012 3-3 4-13 5th in MAAC
2011 2-4 6-10 5th in MAAC
Overall 25-17 50-54  


Marist Accolades Under O'Brien

Offensive Player of the Year (1): 2016 - Allison Gionta

All-MAAC First Team (5): 2016 - Allison Gionta and Kara McHugh. 2015 - Christine AstaritaAllison Gionta and Kara McHugh

All-MAAC Second Team (2): 2016 - Brittany Tricarico. 2015 - Sheridan Fauvell.

All-MAAC Rookie Team (3): 2016 - Audrey Cerrone and Hailey Wagner. 2015 - Morgan Jaycox.

All-Academic Team (25): 2016 - Natalie BonarotiMadison CalkinsAnnie GilliganMorgan JaycoxKara McHughAnna PetrunichAlyssa PitonzoAmanda SanchezStefanie WenzAbigail Witczak. 2015 - Christine AstaritaNatalie BonarotiLexi BranniganKaitlyn BrownHayley BurkeSheridan FauvellEmily LeonardKara McHughAnna PetrunichAlyssa PitonzoTina PumoAmanda SanchezErin SchroederKirsten Viscount and Abigail Witczak.